To commission new musical compositions by outstanding contemporary composers that will be premiered and played by outstanding musical ensembles, in order to capture in music the sounds and emotions that scientists experience in medicine, the life sciences, the physical sciences, and engineering.


We are grateful to many musicians for initial feedback. The composers, performing musicians, and presenters, listed below in alphabetical order, have assisted SoSCC as initial advisors to help align the scientific inspiration with musical performance reality.

  • Anne Francis Bayless, cellist, and Rebecca McFaul, violinist, Fry Street Quartet
  • Derek Bermel, composer, clarinetist, and Director, American Composers Orchestra, New York City
  • David Biedenbender, composer and Assistant Professor,  Michigan State University
  • Roman Borys, cellist, Gryphon Trio, and Artistic Director, Ottawa Chamber Music Society
  • Daniel Charon, artistic director, Ririe-Woodbury Dance Company, Salt Lake City
  • Will Fedkenheuer, violinist, Miro Quartet
  • Aloysia Friedmann, violist and Artistic Director, Orcas Island Chamber Music Festival (OICMF), and Jon Kimura Parker, pianist and Artistic Advisor, OICMF
  • Laura Kaminsky, composer and professor, SUNY Purchase
  • Kimi Kawashima, Executive Director, NOVA Chamber Music Series, Salt Lake City
  • Jason Hardink, Artistic Director, NOVA Chamber Music Series, Salt Lake City
  • Libby Larsen,  composer and co-founder, American Composers Forum, Minneapolis
  • Ranaan Meyer, bassist, Time for Three, Philadelphia
  • Nico Muhly, composer, New York City
  • Andrew Norman, composer, New York City
  • Clint Needham, composer, Cleveland
  • Jon Kulpa, composer, UC Berkeley
  • Augusta Read Thomas, composer, University Professor, University of Chicago
  • Kevin Rogers, violinist, and Doug Machiz, cellist, Friction Quartet, San Francisco
  • David Skidmore, composer, and percussionist, Third Coast Percussion, Chicago

We also recognize the important contributions and inspiration from advisors in graphic and website design, as well as conceptualization of the content and messaging, and public communication:

  • Dan Ruesch, graphic design (manager, Daniel Ruesch Design)
  • Thad Kelling,  website design
  • Rhea Bouman, logo and content/messaging concepts and inspiration
  • Sandra Olney, KSL5, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Christopher Reiger, Managing Director, BAASICs, and Selene Foster, Executive Director, BAASICS,  San Francisco, CA

Scientists, engineers, and physicians are becoming increasingly involved for conceptualization of potential topics for SoSCC commissions, and as advisors for specific commissions. SoSCC will recognize additional individuals as new works are realized. We now thank several scientists for their early insights and suggestions:

  • Peter Barr-Gillespie, Professor of Otolaryngology, OHSU, Portland, OR
  • Robert Davies, Professor of Physics, Utah State University
  • Tobin Sosnick, Professor of Biochemistry, University of Chicago
  • Janet Iwasa, Adjunct Assistant Professor of Biochemistry and molecular animator, University  of Utah
  • Greg Bulaj, Associate Professor of Medicinal Chemistry, University of Utah
  • Barbara Bentley, Emerita Professor of Ecology & Evolution, Stony Brook University

Artistic and Scientific Advisory Board

The SoSCC Advisory Board is now being constituted, and will comprise two diverse groups, both of national and international renown: (i) musically-engaged scientists, engineers, and physicians, and (ii) innovative performers, presenters, artistic directors, and composers.